25 Years of the Tad 10

Back for its 25th Year - the Tad 10 is a 10 mile road race is a fast and flat course on fully closed roads

Prize List

Cash prizes for male and female winners and age category prizes.

Closed Roads

The event has full traffic management in place - so the route will be as traffic free as possible

Chip Timing

Accurate Measured Course, Chip Timing, Fast and flat course - this course might just give you the PB you've been after.


Yes - there will be bespoke event medals given out to all our finishers on the day.

Drink Stations

There will be two drink stations along the route and more at the finish line.


The course is available to view on mapmyrun - if you want to do a recce before the race. On race day there will be signs and mile markers to guide you along the route.

The Tadcaster 10 is a 10 mile road race that was established in 1983 by Tadcaster Methodist Church before Tadcaster Harriers had even been formed. The Harriers subsequently took it on and it was a fixture on the Summer calendar until the last race in 2002.

Increasing beaurocracy , heavier traffic and a downturn in entries spelt the end for the race. At the height of it’s popularity in the late 1980’s it attracted nearly 1000 runners.The course record was set in the first race by Steve Anders, St Helens AC, at 48.07 and plenty of top class runners tried to better it, the closest being Colin Moore of Bingley in 48.37.

Veroniqe Marot, an international athlete who represented Leeds City AC  set a mark of 58.37 in the very first race. This was subsequently demolished by Lynn Everington of Stretford AC who ran 56.02 in 1987, coming 31st out of 735 finishers.

The event was relaunched in 2016 but unfortunately the floods washed away the historic bridge, so the route had to be diverted over the viaduct.  The following years has seen a few alterations to the route, each time hopefully making it better each time.  For 2020 the Race HQ and start line have moved to St Josephs Street in Tadcaster.

Starting on St Josephs Street, the course begins with a 2km loop around Tadcaster Town Centre before heading East out towards the quiet country roads passing through Catterton, Healaugh and Wighill.  See the course map for more details.

This 10 mile road race is on fully closed roads, a drink station at half way along the route and there are medals for all finishers.

Quite a flat course, although there is a long steady climb around the half way mark, but still ideal for those looking for a new 10 mile pb.  It is an accurate measured course and a UKA approved event with chip timing for accurate and quick results.

Course Records (New Route):

Male – Graham Rush (2017) – 52:48

Female – Caroline Lambert (2019) – 57:40


Tad 10 News

Find all the latest updates here

2020 Entries Now Open

Entries for this year’s Tad 10 are now open. The date for this years event is: Sunday 22nd November 2020. Last year’s race was a sell out – so enter early…

2019 Prize Winners

CATEGORY NAME TIME M-OPEN 1st Jonathan Wills 53:29 M-OPEN 2nd Carl Jones 54:00 M-OPEN 3rd Steve Melber 56:52 M-OPEN 4th Lewis Suddaby 56:57 M-OPEN 5th Ben Holmes 57:04 F-OPEN 1st Caroline Lambert 57:41 F-OPEN 2nd Read more…

2019 Results

Positon Name Club Category Time 1 Jonathan Wills Roundhay Runners MV40 53:29:00 2 Carl Jones Richmond & Zetland Harriers MV45 53:59:00 3 Steve Melber MV40 56:52:00 4 Lewis Suddaby East Hull Harriers MSEN 56:57:00 5 Read more…

2019 Race Guide

This year’s race guide is now available to view here. The guide has all the information you need before race day.


As of today – the Tad 10 is now FULL. Sorry if you missed out this year. But we will be back again next year (with hopefully a couple of extra events on the calendar Read more…

Who likes Flapjack?

This year we have teamed up with Yorkshire Flapjack to offer all our runners a tasty post race treat – something to look forward to when you get to about the 7 mile marker… This Read more…

Prize Limit Goes Up

As promised if we got over 500 entries this year we would be increasing the cash prize list. So the male and female overall winners will now receive £100 plus there are now prizes for Read more…

Entry Limit now 750

Following a big increase in entries over the past month – we have increased our entry limit to 750 for this years event. This will be the maximum number of entries. If we reach the Read more…

Its warming up…

Great news – for this year’s Tad 10 – we have a pre-race warm up from the guys at True Personal Training based in Wetherby. They are sure to get those legs and body warmed Read more…


Can you help out at this years Tad 10? We really need some more volunteers for this years event. Not only does it mean that the event can continue year after year but it makes Read more…

Get in Touch

Contact Sport Yorkshire

Give me a ring

Glenn Armstrong

Race Director
07947 649946

Contact Us